Seasats Lightfish - 6-month solar ocean drone
BIKMAN TECHThe Seasats Lightfish is a compact, solar-electric autonomous surface vessel (ASV) designed for persistent maritime missions lasting up to six months. It is the flagship product of Seasats (SeaSatellites, Inc.), a San Diego-based company founded in 2020, with first customer deliveries in 2023. The vessel sits in what the U.S. Navy classifies as the “Very Small Class” of USV — any uncrewed surface vessel under 7 meters (23 ft) in length.
The Lightfish is positioned as a low-logistics, high-endurance platform for intelligence, surveillance, reconnaissance (ISR), maritime domain awareness, hydrographic survey, environmental monitoring, and security patrol. It is sold in several default configurations — Base, Security, Environmental, and Hydrographic — each tailored to a different payload suite, while retaining the same hull and power architecture. The product is commercially available and has been operationally deployed with U.S. Navy, U.S. Marine Corps, and commercial customers since early 2023.
Key Features
- Solar-electric propulsion with hybrid reserve. A 415 W nominal solar array charges a 4 kWh lithium-ion battery, with a built-in methanol fuel cell acting as a range extender.
- Multi-month endurance. Official claims of up to six months on station, with range figures ranging from 6,000+ to 8,000+ nautical miles depending on configuration and source.
- Man-portable deployment. The vessel is designed to be launched and recovered by one or two people from a beach, boat ramp, or pickup truck, with a retractable keel for transport.
- Self-righting hull. A weighted keel enables self-righting, and the vessel is rated for operations in Sea State 6 and above (Beaufort 6+, waves up to approximately 12–20 ft depending on the source).
- Modular payload bay. An internal bay of approximately 4,700 in³ (77 L) accepts up to 66 lb (29.9 kg) of payload, with three physical connection ports supporting RS232, RS485, and Ethernet, and configurable 5–28 V payload power (steady 29–36 W, bursts to 300+ W). An independent trade article states payload mass can be up to 50 kg, which conflicts with the official 29.9 kg figure.
- Redundant communications. Standard LTE, Iridium SBD, and Iridium Certus; Security configuration adds Starlink Mini and optional MANET radios.
- Onboard autonomy and collision avoidance. Five HD cameras, GNSS/GPS, IMU, compass, 2D LiDAR, AIS send/receive, automated AIS sense-and-avoid plus LiDAR object detection, GPS-denied navigation, and a Linux-based Seasats compute unit for mission navigation and image processing.
- Browser-based control. A MOSA-compliant control suite accessible via any browser on a tablet, laptop, or phone; Seasats claims a non-specialist can learn to operate the vessel within five days.
Design
The Lightfish is a monohull with a composite hull and a retractable keel. The deck is covered with square solar panels — flat along the centreline and angled on the port and starboard sides to improve solar capture — with a mid-frontal mast and a rear mast for antennas, lights, and cameras. Beneath the deck hatch, the lithium-ion battery sits at the centre of buoyancy, the methanol generator (range extender) is forward, and payload electronics are housed behind. A single electric motor pod with a weedless propeller and a rudder are mounted at the stern.
The form factor is deliberately small and low-profile. Seasats’ Chief Strategy Officer has stated that the compact size reduces visual and radar signatures, which the company argues lowers the risk of detection or tampering on long-endurance missions. The vessel fits into the bed of a pickup truck or can be shipped by commercial or military aircraft.
Design trade-off: The small hull limits payload volume and mass. The official internal bay capacity is 66 lb / 29.9 kg, which constrains the size and power draw of sensors that can be carried without affecting endurance or stability.
Build Quality
Seasats describes the hull as a composite construction with saltwater corrosion resistance, and states that the lightweight structure is designed to flex slightly under wave impact to dissipate energy without permanent deformation. The company reports that it stress-tests components and full hulls before deployment, and that it runs motors, servos, and other critical components in saltwater tanks at different duty cycles to validate lifespan because “IP ratings are self-certified and, frankly, a lot of companies stretch their stats”.
The vessel uses a Torqeedo electric motor pod and a custom rudder servo with a stainless-steel gear train and brushless DC motor. Seasats states that it has made design changes across all units following the loss of a vessel during a Pacific crossing attempt, specifically correcting an intake issue on an air-breathing generator.
Build-quality caveat: No independent teardown or long-term durability study of the Lightfish was found in public sources. Build-quality claims are therefore manufacturer statements rather than third-party validated findings.
Performance
Speed
Official figures vary by configuration and document:
- Cruise speed: 2 knots (approximately 2.3 mph / 3.7 km/h) — official spec across Security, Base, and Environmental sheets.
- Sprint speed: 4.5 knots on the Security sheet, 5 knots on the Base and Environmental sheets, and 5 knots in the Korthos product profile. A defence.tech listing gives a maximum speed of 9.3 km/h (approximately 5 knots).
The 5-knot figure appears more frequently across secondary sources and is likely the current headline sprint speed, but the 4.5-knot figure remains on the official Security PDF, so the discrepancy is unresolved.
Range and endurance
Official endurance is up to six months. Range figures are inconsistent:
- Security configuration: “6000+ nm”.
- Base model: “6999+ NM”.
- Environmental configuration: “8999+ NM”.
- Korthos profile: 8,000 nautical miles maximum range, 575+ NM maximum range without solar.
- SlashGear and Yahoo: up to 8,000 nautical miles.
The variation likely reflects different payload, battery, and fuel-cell configurations rather than a single definitive range. No independent third-party range test under controlled conditions was found.
Sea state and survivability
Official rating: fully self-righting, operational to Beaufort 6+ (12 ft waves). SlashGear states the vessel can right itself in Sea State 6, “where waves can reach heights of 20 feet,” which is a different wave-height definition than the official 12 ft figure. This is a definitional inconsistency worth flagging: Sea State 6 corresponds to “very rough” seas with wave heights of 4–6 m (13–20 ft), so both figures fall within the same band, but the official sheet’s “12 ft” is at the lower end.
Real-world demonstrated performance (tested)
- Trans-Pacific voyage (2025): A Lightfish travelled more than 7,500 miles over 150 days from San Diego to Japan, with stops in Hawaii and Okinawa, and captured imagery near Wake Island and Guam. This was a manufacturer-run mission, publicly tracked, but not an independent third-party test.
- San Diego to Hawaii (2024): A 2,500-mile, 10-week voyage in collaboration with L3Harris, described by both parties as demonstrating seaworthiness in open-ocean conditions. This is a joint industry test, not an independent review.
- Taiwan Strait transit (2026): A five-day autonomous transit of the Taiwan Strait, during which onboard cameras captured imagery of Chinese naval vessels. Manufacturer-reported; no independent verification of the imagery or transit conditions was found.
- Failed Pacific attempt (undisclosed date): A Lightfish was lost to a typhoon roughly halfway between Japan and Hawaii after covering approximately 2,300 miles. Seasats attributed the likely cause to an air-intake issue on one of the air-breathing generators and stated that design changes were made across all units. This is a candid manufacturer disclosure and a relevant reliability data point.
Technical Specifications
All figures below are official manufacturer specifications unless otherwise labeled. Conflicting values are noted.
Hull and dimensions
- Length: 3.5 m / 11.4 ft (official).
- Width (beam): 1 m / 3.4 ft (official).
- Draft: 0.79 m / 2.6 ft (official; one PDF contains a typographical error “8.79 M,” corrected by other sources).
- Hull material: Composite, with retractable keel.
Weight
- Official Base Model PDF: 395 lb (138 kg) — but the pound-to-kilogram conversion is internally inconsistent (395 lb ≈ 179 kg).
- Official Security PDF: 367 lb (166 kg).
- Official Environmental PDF: 368 lb (163 kg).
- Uncrewed Systems (independent trade publication): typically 132–192 kg depending on payload and added battery mass.
- Defence.tech and RobotAIGeek: 138 kg (305 lb).
- Marine Log, WorkBoat, and others: approximately 340 lb (154 kg).
Speed
- Cruise: 2 knots.
- Sprint: 4.5 knots (Security sheet) or 5 knots (Base/Environmental sheets).
- Top speed in m/s: 2.57 m/s (≈5 knots).
Energy and propulsion
- Solar array: 415 W nominal.
- Battery: 4 kWh lithium-ion.
- Supplemental methanol fuel cell: approximately 100 W boost on demand (Security sheet); Base sheet lists “-169W” (likely a typo or sign convention error); Environmental sheet lists 11 kWh or 28 kWh additional energy from the fuel cell.
- Propulsion: Torqeedo electric drive with weedless propeller, comparable to a 3 hp outboard.
Payload
- Internal bay volume: approximately 4,700 in³ (77 L).
- Payload mass: up to 66 lb / 29.9 kg (official); one independent trade article states up to 50 kg, which conflicts with official figures.
- Payload power: 5–28 V configurable; 29–36 W steady state; bursts to 300+ W.
- Payload connections: three physical ports supporting RS232, RS485, and Ethernet (Security PDF); Korthos lists four ports, creating a discrepancy.
Sensors and autonomy
- Standard sensors: five HD cameras, GNSS/GPS, IMU, compass, 2D LiDAR, AIS send/receive, tricolor navigation light.
- Collision avoidance: automated AIS sense-and-avoid plus LiDAR object detection.
- Compute: Seasats compute unit, Linux OS, onboard AI for edge processing and target classification.
Communications
- Standard: LTE, Iridium SBD, Iridium Certus.
- Optional/add-on: MANET radios; Starlink Mini in Security configuration.
Environmental rating
- Operational to Beaufort 6+ (12 ft waves), fully self-righting.
Contents
The Base Model official specification lists the following auxiliary gear supplied with the vessel:
- Dell Latitude 7230 ruggedized tablet (the PDF text says “7299,” likely a typo for 7230).
- Intuitive joystick controller for launch and recovery.
- Lightfish dolly, suitable for transporting the vessel and launching from boat ramps; legs adjustable for payload access and removable for transport in a pickup truck, van, or crate.
- Spares kit including vehicle key, forward mast lower tube, motor pod, spare propeller, bilge pump, rudder servo, fiberglass repair supplies, and solar deck fasteners.
- Two 16-liter fuel cartridges for the generator.
The Security sheet additionally mentions a Lightfish Dolly and Spare Parts Kit as separate line items, but the Base PDF appears to bundle them as standard auxiliary gear.
Not disclosed: Whether the tablet, joystick, dolly, and spares are included in every configuration or are optional at extra cost is not explicitly stated on the public pages.
Dimensions and Weight
Dimensions
- Length: 3.5 m / 11.4 ft (official).
- Beam: 1 m / 3.4 ft (official).
- Draft: 0.79 m / 2.6 ft (official).
- Height: Not disclosed.
- Internal payload bay volume: approximately 4,700 in³ / 77 L (official).
Weight
The official weight figures are contradictory:
- 138 kg / 305 lb is the most frequently cited headline weight, but the Base Model PDF’s own pound-to-kilogram conversion (395 lb / 138 kg) is mathematically inconsistent.
- The Security and Environmental PDFs give 163–166 kg (367–368 lb).
- Independent trade reporting gives a range of 132–192 kg depending on payload and battery fit.
- Mainstream coverage often rounds to 340 lb (154 kg).
For a blog post, the safest formulation is: “Seasats quotes a base weight of approximately 138 kg, but official documents and independent trade coverage give figures between roughly 132 kg and 192 kg depending on payload and battery configuration.” This should be flagged as an unresolved contradiction rather than presented as a single fact.
Accessories
Standard auxiliary gear (Base Model): rugged tablet, joystick controller, dolly, spares kit, fuel cartridges (see Contents).
Payload and configuration options (official and reported):
- Security configuration: Furuno DRS2D-NXT radar, marinized panning camera with visual and FLIR Boson IR cameras, Starlink Mini, EO/IR cameras, signals payloads, sonar.
- Environmental configuration: Trimble RTX dual-antenna GNSS, Starlink Mini, profiling winch with automated casts to 598 m depth, Nortek VM569 ADCP, Airmar 298MX weather station, Aanderaa conductivity and dissolved-oxygen sensor, winch-deployed sound velocity profiler.
- Hydrographic configuration: high-quality multibeam echosounder tested to depths of 250 m, even in serious sea states (manufacturer claim via interview).
- Base configuration: customer-supplied payloads via the internal bay, forward mast, and rear mast.
Optional add-ons: MANET radios; customer-hosted instance of the control suite; annual or perpetual software licenses; software developer kit and ICD for third-party command-and-control integration.
Not disclosed: The full catalogue of supported third-party payloads, maximum payload dimensions, and whether the Security, Environmental, and Hydrographic packages are factory-installed only or field-retrofittable.
Ease of Use
Seasats places heavy emphasis on low logistical burden. The vessel is designed for one- or two-person manual deployment from a beach, ramp, or pier, without a crane or trailer. The Uncrewed Systems deep-dive describes a pre-launch checklist of 10–12 items in the browser-based user interface, covering hatch security, backup tracker status, cellular radio function, and other checks. Automated checks run in the background, with a dedicated error-display window and an audit log of subsystem tests and commands.
The control interface is browser-based and accessible from any computer, tablet, or phone. Seasats’ CTO developed the UI with a focus on simplicity so that non-engineering personnel could operate it. The company claims a non-specialist can learn to navigate the ASV within five days.
A public tracking page (track.seasats.com) has been used during transits to display boat health metrics, AIS traffic, and live camera feeds, demonstrating that the control stack can support remote monitoring over satellite links.
Operational caveat: The same trade article notes that route planning for a solar vessel is more complex than for a diesel-powered USV, because the operator must account for cloud cover and solar exposure — “a lot like planning routes for a sailboat race”. This is a learned skill rather than a plug-and-play function.
Battery Life and Energy System
The energy system is a hybrid architecture:
- Primary generation: 415 W nominal solar array covering much of the deck.
- Storage: 4 kWh lithium-ion battery at the centre of buoyancy.
- Range extender: a built-in methanol fuel cell providing approximately 100 W of on-demand boost (Security sheet) or 11/28 kWh of additional energy (Environmental sheet).
- Without solar: maximum stored range is 575+ nautical miles.
Endurance: “Up to six months” is the official headline figure, but it is conditional on solar conditions, payload power draw, sea state, and route planning. The Environmental PDF claims 8,999+ NM, while the Security PDF claims 6,000+ NM, illustrating the sensitivity of endurance to configuration.
Tested evidence: The 2025 trans-Pacific voyage covered 7,500+ miles in 150 days (approximately 50 miles per day average), which is consistent with the six-month endurance claim under real solar and weather conditions, though it is a manufacturer-run mission rather than an independent test. The failed Pacific attempt that was lost to a typhoon also occurred after roughly 2,300 miles, indicating that severe weather remains a hard limit regardless of energy storage.
Not disclosed: The methanol tank capacity is not consistently disclosed. One Japanese reseller lists 10–28 L (equivalent to 11.1–31.1 kWh of generation), but this is a third-party source, not Seasats’ official specification. The official Base PDF mentions two 16-liter fuel cartridges but does not state total fuel capacity or fuel consumption rate.
Compatibility
- Command and control: The Seasats Operating System is described as MOSA-compliant (Modular Open Systems Architecture) and interoperable with various C2 systems. A Software Developer Kit and ICD provide APIs for “backseat drivers” and third-party command-and-control integration.
- Payload interfaces: Three physical ports (RS232, RS485, Ethernet) and configurable 5–28 V power; the Korthos profile lists four ports, which is a discrepancy.
- Third-party C2 platforms: A Nextdoor report (anecdotal, not independently verified) states that Lightfish data streams into Palantir’s Maven Smart System and Anduril’s Fortress platform. This is not confirmed by Seasats or the platform vendors.
- Satellite communications: Iridium SBD, Iridium Certus, Starlink (Mini in Security configuration), and LTE.
- Export: Seasats states “No ITAR export restrictions” for the Security configuration, which is a significant compatibility advantage for allied international customers.
Not disclosed: The full list of certified C2 partners, the maximum number of simultaneous payloads, and whether the control suite supports NATO-standard messaging formats beyond the generic MOSA compliance claim.
Real-World Use
The Lightfish has been deployed across defense, border security, scientific, and commercial missions:
- U.S. border security: Since January 2026, Lightfish vessels have operated on the Rio Grande in support of federal border security, and in October 2026 a fleet was deployed from the Texas coast into the Gulf of America for persistent autonomous surveillance of illegal maritime activity, including drug trafficking. A Reuters report (cited by Korthos) states ten vessels were being tested in a Pentagon border-monitoring pilot, with potential expansion from Texas to Key West, though no additional Seasats award is confirmed.
- Trans-Pacific demonstration: The 2025 San Diego-to-Japan voyage (7,500+ miles, 150 days) included stops in Hawaii and Okinawa and captured imagery near Wake Island and Guam.
- Taiwan Strait transit: A five-day autonomous transit in 2026, with onboard cameras capturing imagery of Chinese naval vessels.
- NATO BALTOPS 2025: Multiple Lightfish vessels operated in NATO’s BALTOPS 2025 exercise before the $89 million U.S. Navy SBIR Phase III IDIQ award.
- Scientific and commercial work: Customers have used Lightfish to monitor wildlife, track harmful algal blooms, and create bathymetric maps of channels and harbors. Seasats reports operating Lightfish on every inhabited continent by early 2025.
- U.S. Navy partner-ship launch: In February 2026, the U.S. Navy conducted its first partner-ship launch of a Lightfish in the Indian Ocean.
Anecdotal operational note: During a Taiwan Strait transit, a Lightfish came within meters of a Chinese warship. Seasats’ CEO stated that the encounter raised broader questions about how crews at sea should approach autonomous drones, given the proliferation of explosive USV attacks in other theaters. This is an operator-safety context point rather than a product-performance finding.
Pros and Cons
Strengths (consensus of official and trade sources)
- Exceptional endurance-to-size ratio. Six-month station-keeping in a 3.5 m hull is the defining capability; few, if any, competitors combine this endurance with one-to-two-person man-portability.
- Low logistical footprint. No crane, trailer, or specialized launch team required; fits in a pickup truck or military aircraft.
- Modular payload architecture. The internal bay, mast mounting points, and open software interfaces allow rapid sensor swaps and third-party integration; Seasats reports 35+ payloads integrated.
- Hybrid energy resilience. Solar plus methanol range extender reduces dependence on direct sunlight and extends operation through low-sun periods.
- Proven long-distance autonomy. Manufacturer-run trans-Pacific and Taiwan Strait transits provide concrete, publicly tracked evidence of reliability beyond harbor trials.
- Redundant communications and GPS-denied navigation. Multiple satellite links and anti-jamming/anti-spoofing navigation features are relevant for contested environments.
Weaknesses and limitations
- Slow speed. A 2-knot cruise and 5-knot sprint are adequate for station-keeping and survey work but unsuitable for time-sensitive interception or rapid repositioning. Seasats’ own Quickfish, by contrast, has a top speed over 35 knots.
- Limited payload capacity. The official 29.9 kg / 66 lb internal payload limit constrains sensor size and power draw. An independent trade article’s 50 kg figure conflicts with the official spec and is unverified.
- Weight specifications are contradictory. Official PDFs give 138 kg, 163 kg, and 166 kg; independent trade reporting gives 132–192 kg. This makes transport and lifting planning uncertain.
- Range figures vary widely. 6,000+ nm, 6,999+ nm, 8,000 nm, and 8,999+ nm appear across official and secondary sources. Buyers cannot treat any single figure as definitive without configuration-specific confirmation.
- No independent third-party review. All performance evidence comes from Seasats, its partners (L3Harris), or trade press reporting on manufacturer claims. No independent lab test, teardown, or long-term durability study was found.
- Weather vulnerability. The loss of a vessel to a typhoon during a Pacific crossing attempt, even after design corrections, indicates that severe weather remains a mission-ending risk.
- Solar route planning complexity. Operators must account for cloud cover and solar exposure, which adds planning burden compared with diesel-powered USVs.
Consumer Feedback
There is no meaningful body of traditional consumer feedback for the Lightfish. It is a commercial/defense platform, not a consumer product, and the public review ecosystem (Amazon reviews, Reddit owner threads, YouTube long-term reviews, etc.) does not apply in the usual way.
The available “user” evidence is:
- Customer testimony cited by Seasats’ investors: Pulse 2 Business reported that as part of due diligence for a $20 million Series A, investors spoke directly with Seasats customers and were “impressed by their consistent testimony about the vessel’s ability to execute real-world missions”. This is investor-filtered testimony, not independent review.
- U.S. government adoption: The U.S. Navy, Marine Corps, and border-security agencies have placed orders and exercised the vessel in operational settings, which functions as a form of institutional validation.
- Trade press assessment: Uncrewed Systems describes the Lightfish as a “cost-effective choice” with 30 units in service as of its 2025 article, and notes that Seasats can construct upwards of 20 units per month if pressed. This is trade-press analysis, not a scored review.
Anecdotal user experience is largely limited to operator quotes in trade articles, such as Seasats’ CTO noting that customers want to “send a USV far out into the middle of the ocean to collect and stream video and hydrographic data … and not have to constantly watch it for potential dangers”. These are manufacturer-sourced quotes, not independent user reports.
Sustainability
The Lightfish’s sustainability story is primarily operational rather than material-lifecycle based.
- Energy: Solar-electric primary generation with a methanol fuel-cell range extender. The fuel cell is a fossil-fuel-based backup, so the vessel is not zero-emission in all conditions; however, under normal solar conditions it can operate for months without refueling, reducing the logistics chain and associated emissions compared with crewed patrol boats.
- Material: Composite hull with saltwater corrosion resistance; the retractable keel and modular design are intended to extend service life and simplify maintenance.
- Repairability: The spares kit includes fiberglass repair supplies, a spare propeller, a rudder servo, and a bilge pump, suggesting field-repairable design intent.
- End-of-life: Not disclosed. Seasats does not publish information on battery recycling, composite hull recyclability, or take-back programs.
Caveat: Seasats does not publish a life-cycle assessment, carbon-footprint analysis, or sustainability report. Any sustainability claim beyond “solar-electric primary power reduces fuel logistics” would be unsupported.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.